Deep Purple 2 pc. Skirt set

Deep Purple

If you don’t know by Now, I don’t do exact sizes I have custom sizes, as our family has various shapes to form the same size. My grandnieces are 5yrs, 7 yrs, & 8 yrs old but their sizes range from 6x to 16P so these sizes are based off their measurements not their actual ages, & what their mother told me their sizes were when she bought their latest school clothes.

Since I base all of my patterns by measurements I can use any size yarn & hook so long as I follow my gauge for that piece I’m working, but I still use the same stitch pattern. I just adjust to the # of stitches I have to use to make the pattern work for the smaller yarn or hook that I’ve chosen to use.

Material: To duplicate this exact size 16P

Yarn: #4 weight – 2.8 oz. (80 gr.) skeins= 153 yds. (140 meter) x 10 ( Main Color (MC)6-Deep Purple & 4-Variegated Contrast Color (CC); you may have some left over, since I never know how much I will need before I begin I always need to rush out & buy more as I create, & then have leftovers to work with other projects.)

Crochet hook size: “H”, “8”, or “5.0 mm

4 detachable stitch markers or pieces of marking thread which ever you are more comfortable using

Gauge: 4.25HDC = 1” (2.5 cm) 5 stacked sc = 1” (2.5 cm) 2 ½ rounds/rows= 1” (2.5cm)

Stitches Abbreviations & Definitions:

(Sl st) Slip Stitch clip_image002 (YO) Yarn Over (Ch) Chain clip_image004 (Sc) Single Crochet clip_image006(HDC) Half Double Crochet clip_image008(DC) Double Crochet clip_image010

(Beg DC) Beginning Double Crochet either use clip_image012 which I prefer or clip_image014 ch 3 typical method Beg shell (Beg DC, ch 1, DC, ch 1, DC) all with in the same stitch

Shell (DC, ch 1, DC, ch 1, DC) all within the same stitch.clip_image016

Beg ½ shell (Beg DC, ch 1, DC) all within the same stitch clip_image018or clip_image020or clip_image022or clip_image024

½ shell (DC, ch 1, DC) all within the same stitch clip_image026or clip_image028

As I’ve stated on previous patterns I prefer to use an extended tail joining process instead of knotting my ends together. That way I don’t have a wrong or right side of material. As we work over the extended tails to hide them & the only knot I have to contend with is the very 1st one to create the 1st ch at the very beginning of any pattern working with the Foundational stitches.

Foundational Base Stitches: 170HDC

v Start with ch3 of MC, create a length of 168 Foundational HDC, with your final ch still on the hook, YO, Be careful not to twist the band insert hook through the base of the last Foundational HDC worked & the Base of the 1st ch 3 worked, YO, draw through the 2 base stitches, YO, draw through 2 loops off hook, yo, draw through the remaining 2 loops on hook, sl st in top of the ch 3 to Join creating our base round, ch 1

v Belt Loop section: Sc in same space as our joining, *ch 5, SK 5, sc in next sp, * repeat this around the band, ending with a sl st into the beginning sc, ch 1 ( 29 Belt loops total)

v Skirt Body Section

v Round 1: Sc in same joining space, *SK 2, (shell), SK 2, sc, * repeat this around ending with a sl st into the beginning sc

v Round 2: Beg Shell, sc,* shell in next divot, sc, * repeat around ending with a sl st in top of the beg DC of the beg shell, sl st to center dc of shell, ch 1

v Round 3: Sc in same space as ch 1, *shell, sc, * repeat around ending with sl st into the beg sc

v Round 4 & all even rounds until round 24 : worked like Round 2

v Round 5 & all odd rounds until round 25 : worked like round 3

v Round 26: Beg shell, sc, * shell, sc, * repeat around but when it comes to the last sc. It will be worked as follows, MC on hook, insert hook in top center dc of the last completed shell, draw up loop, cut MC leave an extended tail to be worked over, now joining the CC, draw up a loop through the to loops on the hook, now holding both extended tails against work, sl st in top of the beg dc, of the beg shell to join work, shift the extended tail to next round,

v Round 27 to Round 32 will be worked in the shell pattern already established as if you were still working with your MC only you will be working them in your CC, Fasten off & weave end in to hide.

This is the section that I’ve have the hardest time remembering how I did it. Since I created it back in August & my memory isn’t the greatest at remembering things I know I did struggle trying to determine how to create it. As I did it differently from the Mauve one, I created the Mauve one after I created this one. No worries, I will do the best that I can. I’m including a chart graph that I’ve constructed to aid in my explanation.

Vest – is worked from the shoulders down to the armholes & then beyond to the waistline.

v Base Foundation Row: Create a Foundational base of 70 HDC, ch 1, turn

v Row 1: Sc in same space as your turning ch 1, * sk 1, (shell), sk 1, sc,* repeat following graph ending with a sc in the opposite end of the foundation base row.

v Row 2: (Beg ½ Shell),* sc, (shell), * repeat across following the graph, ending with a ½ shell in the final sc of previous row, ch 1,turn .

v Row 3: sc in the turning space, *(shell) , sc, * repeat across following the graph ending with a sc in top of the last DC of the ½ shell of previous row.

v Row 4 to row 12: Repeat the last 2 rows following the graph for guidance.

v Row 13: This is our sticky wicket of a row as this is the row we begin to piece our front panels to our back panel & our back panel to our left front panel.Once you’ve completed the 1st twelve rows of your left front panel you will be able to extend this back panel by 20 foundational sc to the left & complete the left front panels 13 row.

v Row 14: sc, *shell, sc, * repeat across the entire piece of work, sorry I can’t remember if I used a SK 1 or a SK 2 across the armhole openings, please attempt to stay within the established pattern, ending with a sc in the last ½ shell of previous row. And please forgive me for not writing this pattern down as I went. I wasn’t expecting anyone else to want to work my patterns. This is only my 2nd request.

v Row 15: Beg ½ shell, sc, *shell, sc, * repeat across ending with a ½ shell in the last sc made of the previous row.

v Row 16 – 24: Repeat rows 14 & 15 respectively. With a special ending of row 24 to drop your MC & pick up your CC. You will finish your final stitch on row 24 with the CC & continue to work

v Rows 25 – Row 30 in your Contrast color with the exception that once you’ve reached your other side of the piece you will NOT fasten off but you WILL continue around in sc to trim the entire vest. Once you’ve reached the other bottom of the front panel you will sl st to join & fasten off at this point.

This graph is only a partial portion of the complete vest. Sorry that it is an incomplete graph, but I’m now really limited to the time spent online or even on the computer. clip_image030


Front Panels: Will be worked similar to each other with the exception that the armholes & the neck lines are worked opposite of each other.

v Row 1: is worked on the same foundational base row as the back panel. Starting at the armhole side join a 2nd skein or ball of yarn (sc, shell, sc, shell, sc, shell, sc) thus ending the right front panel attach another ball of yarn approximately 20 stitches from the last stitch of your right front panel to create your left front panel. Using the same stitch pattern (sc, shell, sc, shell, sc, shell, sc) ending at your armhole side. I know that the graph show more but as I stated I’m limited to time on the computer now as I’m currently in a phase of limitations of my illness. I’ll be explaining the right front panel 1st.

v Row 2: (Beg ½ shell, sc, shell, sc, shell, sc, ½ shell) this is the same on both panels.

v Row 3: (sc, shell, sc, shell, sc, shell, 2 sc) this is the right front &this will be how you work your left front (2 sc, shell, sc, shell, sc, shell, sc)

v Work in similar fashion Rows 2 & 3 for Rows 4 through 7. Increasing on the neckline not the armhole section.

v Row 8: sc, *shell, sc, *repeat across to the armhole side ending with a sc. This is if I’ve remembered correctly how both sides would be worked. Please work in pattern maintaining straight edges on both front sides now.

v Row 9: Beg ½ shell, sc, shell, *repeat across ending with a ½ shell, I believe both sides are worked the same. The only difference is that the left side ends at the armhole & the right side ends at the center of the vest front, or visa versa, I’m slightly confused I can’t remember which side is which, as I don’t have a right side or wrong side of work.

v Row 10: sc, *shell, sc, *repeat across ending with a sc. This is if I’ve remembered correctly how both side would be worked.

v Row 11: Beg ½ shell, sc, shell, *repeat across ending with a ½, I believe both sides are worked the same.

v Row 12: sc, *shell, sc, *repeat across ending with a sc. This is if I’ve remembered correctly how both side would be worked. This is the Row that you will Fasten off your Left Front Panel.

v Row 13: Beg ½ shell, sc, shell, *repeat across once you’ve reached your armhole opening please extend by 20 foundational SC & end with a sl st into your back panel, the armhole opening should be approximately 2”.

v Row 14: Starting on your left front panel & working straight across to the right front panel this is our 1st fully extended row. Please work in pattern maintaining straight edges on both front sides now. Please refer back to the back panel directions for the remainder of the pattern. As we are now working in extended rows.

2 thoughts on “Deep Purple 2 pc. Skirt set

  1. Love your unisex vest! I don’t knit, wish I could find them in crochet . the sizes would be perfect for the couple I would make them for. You do beautiful work!

    1. Give me sometime & I’ll convert it to a crochet pattern. I don’t knit that often I much rather crochet but I was trying to see if I was advanced enough to make them for my hubby & I. I apparently was.

Leave a Reply

